Silver Spring, MD

Rockville Studio, MD

Fairfax Virginia, VA


Levels Of Ballroom Dancing

Did you know that there are standards that exist in dance education?  Each standard or level represents a certain type of dancer.  These levels are accepted throughout the world.  Most established dance studios follow these levels of ballroom dancing.  You need to pass tests to get from one level to the next.

Levels Of Ballroom Dancing

The first of the levels of ballroom dancing is called Bronze.  In this level there are a large number of dances taught.  These dances vary from dance studio to dance studio.  However, there are certain dances that are considered to be standard.  In the Bronze level, the standard dances are accepted to be: Fox Trot, Waltz, Rumba, Swing, Cha Cha, Tango, Merengue, Samba, Salsa, and Disco.  At our studios (in all three locations: Rockville, MD, Silver Spring, MD, and Fairfax, VA), we also teach Polka and Mambo.

There are other dances that can be learned, such as Free Style Disco and Night Club Slow, but these dances are not a part of our standard dances.

Importantly, the Bronze level represents an excellent level in dancing.  At this level you will be taught ten patterns in the dances of your choosing.  You would dance these patterns to perfection.  Your technique, styling, footwork, leading/following, timing, and pretty much every aspect of your dancing will be excellent.

Upon completing the Bronze level in dancing, you don’t need more dance lessons to be a better social dancer because Bronze completes the picture.  As a Bronze dancer, you are able to dance with anyone to any kind of music, in any dance situation, and be excellent at it.  Finally, each level in dancing has four sub-levels (or you can think of them as semesters like in school).  These sub-levels are referred to as Bronze One, Bronze Two, Bronze Three, and Bronze Four (Full Bronze).

Leave a Comment